Strickland Hall, has had a chequered history. From the 1540s being tied in to the Crackenthorpe’s of Newbiggin Hall, briefly (we believe from hearsay) to the Strickland’s of Sizeurgh Castle and latterly to the Lowther Estate. We are tracing its history as time allows. We have found the archives at Carlisle Castle, passed on by the Lonsdale estate, a fascinating and invaluable resource. This page is effectively under construction, please bear with us as we research and add to the history as time allows.
During the Suppression of the Monasteries, the last abbot of Shap Abbey surrendered to Henry VIII’s men on 14 January 1540. On the 6th November 1543, Henry VIII then granted this estate, with many others, to Christopher Crackenthorpe of Newbiggin Hall. It was built/extended by his second son, John Crackenthorpe.
After four generations, John Crackenthorpe died in 1594 and the property was sold to John Pattinson of Thrimby, before passing to the Lowther estate. The Morland Registers, beginning in 1538, denote that John Crackenthorpe had an heir, Christopher (died 1630). The manor of Little Strickland passed to his son Richard (died 1672).